Upper Delaware Council

Membership List for the UDC
Meeting Schedule
Meeting Minutes
Press Releases
TAG Program
Links and Resources
Gallery Photos
Contact Us
Upper Delaware Council Home Page

Upper Delaware Council monthly newsletters. Click here

Subscribe to
the UDC Newsletter.

UDC map of region.

The Upper Delaware Council, Inc. (UDC) was unique in the world of river conservation and management when established in 1988 because it represented a formal partnership of local, state, and federal governments and agencies which have joined together to manage the Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River, a true national treasure.

The Council’s existence evolved from special provisions in the 1978 legislation which designated the Upper Delaware River as a component of the National Wild and Scenic Rivers System, and called for development of a management plan and a program providing for the coordinated implementation and administration of the plan. To that end, the Upper Delaware Council (UDC) was formed in 1988.

What sets this River Management Plan apart is the commitment to local land use controls and voluntary actions by landowners to protect the resources on their own private property, as opposed to federal ownership of the land in the river corridor.

As the driving force behind the River Management Plan, the UDC provides a mechanism to address actions by local, state, and federal agencies which affect the river valley.

The Council membership operates under a long-term, renewable Cooperative Agreement with the National Park Service. Voting members are the two states (New York and Pennsylvania) and presently 13 out of the 15 local governments which border on the Upper Delaware River. In New York, these include the Town of Hancock in Delaware County, and Towns of Fremont, Delaware, Cochecton, Tusten, Highland, and Lumberland in Sullivan County, and the Town of Deerpark in Orange County. In Pennsylvania, members are the Townships of Berlin and Damascus in Wayne County, and Townships of Lackawaxen, Shohola, and Westfall in Pike County. The Delaware River Basin Commission is a non-voting member of the Council. The Wayne County Townships of Buckingham and Manchester are eligible to join the Council as voting members, but have not

UDC Membership

Services to members include reviews of development projects, ordinances, and governmental initiatives; advocacy; and administration of some pass-through state grant programs. The Council also administers a Technical Assistance Grants (TAG) program, publishes “The Upper Delaware” twice-annual newsletter, offers the “Visitor Information Map and Guide for Touring the Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River: New York and Pennsylvania” brochure, sponsors educational programs, organizes an annual raft trip to promote river UDC brochure Brochure Map Brochure Information Brochure Map stewardship, and holds an annual awards ceremony to honor river valley contributors.

The UDC’s Business Office is located at 211 Bridge Street in Narrowsburg. The full Council meets on the first Thursday of every month. Three standing committees — Water Use/Resource Management, Project Review, and Operations — also convene monthly. All meetings of the Council are open to the public.

The UDC is classified as a non-profit, tax-exempt organization under IRS Code Section 501(c)(3). It is incorporated in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and registered to do business in New York State as well. Contributions are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law.

Over the past 20 years, the UDC has enjoyed remarkable success, having prevented significant incompatible uses proposed for the river valley, often before the proposal left the drawing board.

UDC committees and staff have worked with corridor towns and townships right from the beginning to ensure that control of the Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River stays in local hands, our river valley voice is heard, and that the character of the corridor — in which more than 85% of the land is privately-owned – remains unique in the realm of federally-protected rivers.

Click here to view: "Partnering to Protect the River" Special Supplement.


2015 Award Winners

Contributed Photo by Scott Rando
UDC 2015 AWARDS: The Upper Delaware Council held its 27th Annual Awards Ceremony on April 26 at Central House Family Resort in Beach Lake, PA. Accepting honors were, seated from the left: Robin M. Daniels Memorial Lifesaving Award winner Eric Mankowski of Fountain Hill, PA; USGS scientist Kelly O. Maloney, Special Recognition Award; Carol Roig of Sullivan Alliance for Sustainable Development and Tannis Kowalchuk of NACL Theater, both accepting the Partnership Award for The Weather Project; Special Recognition Award winner Mikki Uzupes, news director for Bold Gold Media Group’s Lake Region Office; Cultural Achievement Award winner Sally Talaga of Honesdale, PA; and Volunteer Award winner Ginny Fiero, volunteer coordinator of the NPS Watershed Stewards Program at the Upper Delaware. Standing from the left: Charles Blanchard, Tusten Energy Committee; Jeff Skelding and Sherri Resti from Friends of the Upper Delaware River, Inc., a joint Community Service Award; Brandi Merolla, Carol Wingert, and Star Hesse, fellow members of the Tusten Energy Committee, group Community Service Award; Supervisor Steven Adams, Damascus Township, Outstanding Community Achievement Award; and Glenn H. Voss of Beach Lake, PA, Distinguished Service Award. Absent was Oaken Gavel Award recipient 2014 UDC Chairperson Andrew Boyar, supervisor of the Town of Highland, NY.

udc 2015

UDC BOARD: Gathered at the Upper Delaware Council’s Feb. 5 meeting were, seated: Secretary-Treasurer Jeff Dexter (Damascus), Chairperson Al Henry (Berlin), and Vice-Chairperson Susan Sullivan (Tusten). Standing from left to right were: Brian Stuart (Lackawaxen), Steve Tambini (Delaware River Basin Commission), Fred Peckham (Hancock), Bill Rudge (New York State), Tim Dugan (Commonwealth of Pennsylvania), Nadia Rajsz (Lumberland), Kris Heister (National Park Service), Tony Ritter (Tusten), Pat Jeffer (Shohola), Virginia Dudko (Deerpark), Andy Boyar (Highland), Jim Greier (Fremont), Dave Dean (Deerpark), and Larry Richardson (Cochecton). Absent were representatives from Delaware and Westfall.


©2008-2012 Upper Delaware Council • 211 Bridge Street, P.O. Box 192 • Narrowsburg, NY 12764-0192 • info@upperdelawarecouncil.org • 845-252-3022 • SiteMap

Website designed by: W Design